91 -11- 41646262

RHCE RH135 Certification


Red Hat System Administration II with RHCSA Exam (RH135) is designed for IT professionals working to become a full-time enterprise Linux system administrator.

The course is a follow on to System Administration I, and continues to utilizes today´s best-of-breed contemporary teaching methodology. Students will be actively engaged in task focused activities, lab based knowledge checks and facilitative discussions to ensure maximum skills transfer and retention. Building on the foundation of command line skills covered in System Administration I, students will dive deeper into Red Hat Enterprise Linux to broaden their “tool kit” of administration skills. By the end of this five day course, students will be able to administer file systems and partitioning, logical volume management, access control, package management and troubleshooting best practices.

Students who attend Red Hat System Administration I & II will be fully prepared to take the Red Hat Certified System Administration (RHCSA) exam.


IT professionals who have attended Red Hat System Administration I, and want the skills to be a full-time enterprise Linux administrator and/or earn an RHCSA certification


  1. Red Hat System Administration I
  2. Confirmation of the correct skill-set knowledge can be obtained by passing the online pre-assessment quiz – pre-assessment questionnaire

Course Outline

The following is an outline of the skills and knowledge represented in the training elements of the Red Hat System Administration II (RH135) course.

Unit 1 – Automated Installations of Red Hat Enterprise Linux

Objective: Create and manage kickstart configuration files; perform installations using kickstart

Unit 2 – Accessing the Command Line

Objective: Access the command line locally and remotely; gain administration privileges from the command line

Unit 3 – Intermediate Command Line Tools

Objective: Use hardlinks; use archives and compression; use vim

Unit 4 – Regular Expressions, Pipelines, and I/O Redirection

Objective: Use regular expressions to search patterns in files and output; redirect and pipe output

Unit 5 – Network Configuration and Troubleshooting

Objective: Configure network settings; troubleshoot network issues

Unit 6 – Managing Simple Partitions and Filesystems

Objective: Create and format simple partitions, swap partitions and encrypted partitions

Unit 7 – Managing Flexible Storage with Logical Volumes

Objective: Implement LVM and LVM snapshots

Unit 8 – Access Network File Sharing Services

Objective: NFS, CIFS and autofs

Unit 9 – Managing User Accounts

Objective: Manage user accounts including password aging; connect to a central LDAP directory service

Unit 10 – Controlling Access to Files

Objective: Manage group memberships, file permissions, and access control lists (ACL)

Unit 11 – Managing SELinux

Objective: Activate and deactivate SELinux; set file contexts; manage SELinux booleans; analyze SELinux logs

Unit 12 – Installing and Managing Software

Objective: Manage software and query information with yum, configure client-side yum repository files

Unit 13 – Managing Installed Services

Objective: Managing services, verify connectivity to a service

Unit 14 – Analyzing and Storing Logs

Objective: Managing logs with rsyslog and logrotate

Unit 15 – Managing Processes

Objective: Identify and terminal processes, change the priority of a process, use cron and at to schedule processes

Unit 16 – Tuning and Maintaining the Kernel

Objective: List, load, and remove modules; use kernel arguments

Unit 17 – Troubleshooting

Objective: Understand the boot process, resolve boot problems